Are You Insecure?

The subject of insecurities has been a hot topic around my house lately. My wife and I have had several discussions about it over the past few weeks. We’ve talked about our own insecurities as well as our family’s and friend’s insecurities. My wife seems to think that I have no insecurities. While this is not entirely true, for the most part I don’t have many insecurities. It goes back to when I was in high school and very insecure. I was the guy that everyone picked on. Well, I woke up one day and realized that I shouldn’t care what anyone else thinks, and from that day on, I haven’t felt strong insecurities like others feel, although I do still have some.

So, why do people have insecurities? While I think there are many reasons for this, I think the root of people’s insecurities goes back to the fall of Adam and Eve. Think about it. Before the fall, Adam and Eve were naked. They were naked physically, but they were also “naked” to each other emotionally, mentally, and spiritually. They were in complete union with each other and with God, with nothing held back. They were completely secure in the love of God. Then they fell. They realized that they were naked and they clothed themselves. They also hid their thoughts and feelings from each other. Through that original sin they were no longer secure in the love of God. They feared what others thought about them and they hid themselves–physically, emotionally, and spiritually–from each other.

How can we get back to that feeling of the security of God’s love? We can’t get it back entirely, at least not while still in this world. But we can seek out the protection of God, seek out His love and His strength. Through God we can have the resolved to not care what others think about us. While we may not be able to get rid of our insecurities completely–I don’t know anyone who has, myself included–we can find some security in the love of God.

Published in: on August 4, 2009 at 7:23 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://salvationadventure.wordpress.com/2009/08/04/are-you-insecure/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

